2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2013 7:38 AM by JohnSherwin

Copy Value from a field to use in a calculation

JohnSherwin

Title

Copy Value from a field to use in a calculation

Hi,

I have a time sheet database with several tables: Users, Rates, Hours, Joblist, Invoice, Quotation.

In the Rates table I have 3 records showing fields: Rate ID, Rate Description and Rate Letter as follows:

B

A

C

In the hours table I have fields and calculations giving me the total hours by a staff member, at a particular rate and a particular activity, this total hours by those 3 parameters are presented in a summary field. 

I want to add a further calculation field that will multiply that summary result x the value associated with rate A, B or C in the rates table.

As I said, I am a newbie and cannot figure out how to get a calculation to extract the correct rate from the correct record in the rates table. I want 1 calculation to copy the rate for A, another to copy the rate for B and another to copy the rate for C.

I have been trying lookup, get, case but it is a bit trial and error, mostly error.

Any help would be great.

• 1. Re: Copy Value from a field to use in a calculation
          philmodjunk

Regardless of whether you set up a looked up value setting on a Rate field in the Hours table, an auto-entered calculation that multiplies the Rate times the total hours or an unstored calculation that multiplies the Rate times the hours, you first need a valid relationship between the two tables:

Hours>-------Rates

Hours::RateLetter = Rates::RateLetter

With that relationship, you can set a rate field in Hours with a looked up value setting that will copy over the Rate from the Rates table each time you select or change the value of the Hours::RateLetter field.

• 2. Re: Copy Value from a field to use in a calculation
            JohnSherwin

Thanks PhilModJunk.

I have a relationship of Rates::RatesDesription to Users::RatesDescription and then