3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2009 9:51 AM by philmodjunk

Cost Calculation

Catherine

Title

Cost Calculation

I'm a calculation field rookie.

Any advice how to create a formula (in a caluclationf field) that takes the number value of the 'total cost' field' in order to show monthly expenditure (ie by adding each cost field in a given month)

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Cost Calculation
          philmodjunk

A lot depends on how you've set up your table(s)

Let's assume you have multiple records for each month with "Cost" the name of either a number field or a calcualtion field that returns a number.

You will also need a date field which we'll call "DateField"

Define a summary field "TotalCost" and set it up as the "total of" the Cost field.

Create a calculation field that will return the same date for each record with the same year, month: Date (Month (DateField); 1 ; Year(DateField)). Call it "MonthYear".

Create a summary report layout with a sub-summary part when sorted by "MonthYear".

Create a trailing Grand Summary part.

Place the TotalCost field into the Sub-Summary and Grand Summary parts.

Sort your records by MonthYear.

You'll get a report where Monthly cost is returned in the Sub-Summary part and the total cost is shown in the Trailing Grand Summary.

• 2. Re: Cost Calculation
            Catherine

I followed these instructions until the part about creating a summary layout. Does this mean creating an entirely new layout? I didnt see summary layout in one of the pre-configured options.

Could you please clarify this point?

Thanks- much appreciated!

• 3. Re: Cost Calculation
              philmodjunk

A summary report is a list/report with grouped data. You can create your layout using those options, but I find it easier just to create a list report and then add the sub-summary and grand summary parts after the basic layout is created.

Starting from an existing list/report type layout:

Enter layout mode