1 2 Previous Next 29 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2011 2:52 AM by LaRetta_1

Count field with specific text

AnitaWoods

Title

Count field with specific text

I am relatively new to FM, a casual user with a home-based business.  In essence, I simply want to count the number of times a field contains specific text. I have searched this forum and many places on the internet, but I still can't make it work. 

I have two text fields, Outcome_h and Outcome_p, that may contain "SAB" or "TAB".  I can count the total number of records (Count (Outcome_h) + Count (Outcome_p), now how do I JUST count the number of times "SAB" or "TAB" occurs?  I would appreciate VERY much specific help on how to make this work.

• 1. Re: Count field with specific text
          LaRetta_1

Hi Anita,

Let's pin down the rules:

1) If a word 'contains 'sab' should it be included?  For instance, "The sable fox is ..."  or should it be only finding SAB as a separate word (and would it matter if it was capitalized or not?

2) Do you want to count the record as '1' if it has SAB at all in it or do you want to count a single record as '2' if it has SAB in it twice?  Or do you want it to count as 1 if it has SAB in one field and TAB in another or should it count as two? 

3) Would you ever want to count other words besides SAB or TAB?  Would you want to be able to type ANY word into a field and produce a count of how many result?

Well, here is a way which hard-codes your choices of SAB and TAB and will accept sable and table and any words where these two are a PART of it.  If these fields only contain a single word or multiline with single words then this should work for you:  Create a calculation (result is number) with:

PatternCount ( Outcome_h & " " & Outcome_p ; "SAB" ) + PatternCount ( Outcome_h & " " & Outcome_p ; "TAB" )

This produces the count on each record.  To then find the total of all records in a found set, add a summary field which would be 'total of this calculation'.