9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2015 9:35 AM by philmodjunk

Count of Related Record

FM_DM

Title

Count of Related Record

Hi

I am very new at filemaker and would like some help with my database. I have attached an image of the basic Item record detail that most of the work is done to this database. This is the 'home' screen of the database.

When a New item is added to the database the item information represented via TEST is this image is added via a the Item ID. The information is held in a separate Items database and the tables are related by Item ID. Location is determined via  dropdown list and is individual to each record. 

What I would like to do is have the Amount in office field to be automatically updated as I change the location on individual records. 

For instance if I create a new record for a specific type pf latch I would like the amount in office field to automatically update to add one to the current total.  If I were to give out a latch to an engineer and change the location to offsite I would like the amount to go down by one. 

How would I be able to achieve this. I have attempted a number of different ways but I think I may be stumbling blindly in the dark here .

Thanks

databae.PNG

• 1. Re: Count of Related Record
          philmodjunk

I'm a bit in the dark about what you want. What I see looks like  record for a table where each item is entered into a separate record. Then I see a portal used for unknown purposes.

You want some kind of count to appear and automatically update in the "In office" field. But are you counting all records with the same item ID but with "Office" as the location? Are you counting all records in the same category with "office" as the location? Or all records of all types with "Office" as the location?

• 2. Re: Count of Related Record
            FM_DM

Hi