8 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2011 11:48 AM by aammondd

Count or summary of Drop Down Fields

tso

Title

Count or summary of Drop Down Fields

Need advice for the best/easiest way to count or summarize drop down fields in a table ( I've got a book on FMP but I'm still a beginner. Don't see exactly what i need there...)

We have a database filled with patients and donors but we only need to tally demographic info on the patients for every month, quarter, year.

We have a table called PATIENT DEMOGRAPHICS with 10 drop downs - like ethnicity (choose 1 of 9), income (choose low, med, high)...etc.

So we need to generate  reports during specific time frames of patients served, thus counting up all the data in the drop downs.

April 2011:

32 women

18 men

5 from San Francisco county

18 african american

tips?

thanks.

• 1. Re: Count or summary of Drop Down Fields
          philmodjunk

I'm not sure that I'm interpreting your report example correctly.

When you indicate that you have

5 from SanFrancisco county

Is that 5 men from San Francisco county or 5 of the 40 total men and women who donated in April 2011?

• 2. Re: Count or summary of Drop Down Fields
            tso

Well I just made that stuff up but its more complex than that. I'm trying to find the easiest way.

We want to know how many patients we saw during time frame...that should be the total number of patient records in the group.

Then of that group we only need to know how many women under 55, women over 55, men under 55,men over 55.

And then of that same group of patients count of (non-gender specifically) income, insurance.

It would pull the data from whatever was entered in the drop downs for each patient record from the patient demographic table.

If possible. Maybe i set it up wrong?

Make any sense?

• 3. Re: Count or summary of Drop Down Fields
              philmodjunk