7 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2009 9:19 AM by raybaudi

Counting vacation days

cps-tech

Title

Counting vacation days

I am trying to set up a basic database that tracks staff days off (vacation, sick...)I can get it to count the days I have off, but I cannot figure out how to account for half-days off.  I was using the count feature:

sick_count = If(attendance_Type="Sick";1;0) and combining that with a summary field of total_sick=Summary of sick_count

but that only works for people taking a whole day off.  I need it to count by .5 for half days AND 1 for whole days.  How can I have it count by ones for whole days and count by .5 for half days?  Is there a way to count occurances when BOTH day_length=.5 AND attendance_type ="Sick" and then combine that with day_lentgh=1 AND attendance_type="Sick"

I know my way around FileMaker a bit, but I am far from an expert on these calculations.

• 1. Re: Counting vacation days
          raybaudi

Hi

try this calculation for sicK_count :

( attendance_Type = "Sick" ) * Day_lenght

• 2. Re: Counting vacation days
            cps-tech
               I still get a zero returned, but can I assume that is because my attendance_type="Sick" is a text field?  It almost seems like the numerical values I have in day_length (.5 and 1) are not being treated as numbers even though they are defined as a numeric field.  Counting the records work, but I cannot perform any mathmatical calculation using that value.
            • 3. Re: Counting vacation days
              raybaudi

Did you copy exactly my calculation ? ( included both brackets )

( attendance_type="Sick" ) is a boolean calc and should return 1 ( if the field attendance_type contains "Sick" ) or 0

so:

( attendance_type="Sick" )*day_length should return either 0, .5 or 1

• 4. Re: Counting vacation days
                cps-tech