11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 30, 2013 2:36 PM by megorama

Course database help

megorama

Title

Course database help

I am relatively new to FM, I am trying to create a course database that has COURSES - FACULTY - LOCATIONS, I succeeded in setting up the database but am stuck. I am trying to have the Course Description layout display only those FACULTY associated with the LOCATION that was selected. I figured out how to have all of the faculty listed but am stuck on how to have it relate to the LOCATION. Attached is my Relationship map. Seems there has to be a simpe answer but I am not finding it.

FOR EXAMPLE: We have faculty in three locations - Paris, Madrid and London, if I add a course and select Paris, I would like only those faculty that teach in Paris to by in the pop-up menu. 

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Screen_Shot_2013-08-15_at_2.41.37_PM.jpg

• 1. Re: Course database help
          philmodjunk

You do not have a relationship that links faculty to locations only faculty to courses.

You can duplicate your location Tutorial: What are Table Occurrences? and link it to your faculty table via a location ID field you add to the faculty table.

Then you can get a relationship where you see all faculty for a specified location--either in a conditional value list or in a portal. You'll need two more occurrences of the location table. (I am assuming that a given faculty record need only be linked to one location. It get's even more complex if a given member of your faculty teaches in two or more locations.)

To link a given faculty member ot a specific location:

Faculty::_fkLocationID = Location|Faculty::__pkLocationID

to get a list or portal of faculty after selecting a location in Courses::fkLocation:

Faculty|LocationCourse::_fkLocationID = Location::__pkLocationID

You'd refer to Faculty|LocationCourse to get a portal or conditional value list of faculty members on your Course layout.