3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2010 5:18 AM by Goldfish

Create a link in our FM Pro database to folder on our server

Goldfish

Title

Create a link in our FM Pro database to folder on our server

Hi!  I am a new user of FM Pro and not a programmer.

I would really apprecaite some help in creating a link in our FM Pro database to a folder on our server.

Each record in the db has a unique Project Name, Project Number and Date (yymmdd).  I am hoping that using the above information from each record in the DB that some kind of a script (possibly a URL will work) thus allowing the user to click a button in that record which in turn will open a window showing the folder (containing files that relate to this record).  FYI this folder is all ready created and named yymmdd on our server.

A typical file ext is  P:/PROJECTS/Te0191_Cummins/Output/101206

(P:/PROJECTS/Project Number_Project Name/yymmdd)

Any help apprciated and please understand I am a total novice!  Thank you

• 1. Re: Create a link in our FM Pro database to folder on our server
          philmodjunk

It may be possible to do this with a Shared Directory (each workstation must be able to directly access this folder and each must map to the folder with identical file paths and a web viewer, but if you are using Windows Xp, the results can be buggy.

There are plug ins that enable fileMaker to better interact with files and folders, so you may want to investigate. One that's windows only, MooPlug, is free.

For More Information see:    Limited Local File Access Through Web Viewer in Windows XP

This is one of many acknowledged bugs that can be found in the Known Bug List here in the Report an Issue section of the forum.

It can also be downloaded as a database file from:   http://www.4shared.com/file/8orL8apk/FMP_Bugs.html

• 2. Re: Create a link in our FM Pro database to folder on our server

Goldfish:

Thanks for posting!