10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2010 3:13 PM by LaRetta_1

Create a unique alpha numeric code

Pam

Title

Create a unique alpha numeric code

I am a novice user of Filemaker Pro v10 (MAC), with limited script writing ability.

Is there a way to create a unique customer ID code. To be based on the first 3 letters of the surname and the 3 digits (commencing 001). When one inputs the letters, the next number in the sequence should be added.

If it is not possible to automate the function, how would one show the options already used, so that the user can manually create the next sequence?

• 1. Re: Create a unique alpha numeric code
          LaRetta_1

You do not want a customer code which has meaning.  What if the person changes their last name?  Well, there are many reasons that you should stick with using a number field named CustomerID and make it auto-enter and select serial option and start with 1.  This is the only way that you can guarantee your relationships will remain intact.  Every table should have this unique ID.

But you can create a calculation ( result is text) which you can display.  It would be something like:

Left ( LastName ; 3 ) & CustomerID

:smileyhappy:

• 2. Re: Create a unique alpha numeric code
            etripoli

While LaRetta makes a good point about not using the last name in the ID field, it might be better to start the ID numbering at something like 1001, or 10001, depending on how many customers you plan to have.  Starting at 1 seems novice.  With that said, it is also possible, and sometimes advantageous to use alphanumeric IDs, because they give you almost 4 times the possible IDs, using the same number of characters as a strictly numeric ID would give.