5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2011 2:24 PM by philmodjunk

create new contact record - script

DonnaZi

Title

create new contact record - script

i'm using FM 11 and the Lending Library starter template. i'm pretty much a beginner here. thanks.

To "check-out" an asset, the user clicks on a button on the asset record page that starts a sequence of "check-out" scripts:

- go to list layout of Contacts Table showing existing contacts. user selects their name from the list and

- goes to layout in History Table that asks user to fill in due date for item and click "continue" button

- window returns to asset record page, item status is now "not available"

Primary question:

1.) how can i give the user an opportunity, during this process, to add a new contact record for themselves (if they're not already in the system)?

Secondary question:

2.) how can i make this whole sequence be carried out in a pop-up window that closes when the whole sequence is processed? user should see asset window they saw last before check-out sequence

check-out-full-screen.jpg

• 1. Re: create new contact record - script
          philmodjunk

Since your script pauses on a contact list layout basd on contacts. You should be able to add a button there that uses New Record to create a new contact record. Since contact list probably does not display all the fields need nor is it likely set up to allow editing, such a new contact button could switch to the correct layout, create a new record and pause for the user to complete the new contact record. Continuing the script can continue your check out process.