6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2010 12:17 PM by d.b

Create related records

d.b

Title

Create related records

Okay, I'm totally new to FM (and relational databases in general). This isn't as simple as I thought it might be.  I'm still getting comfortable with how to set up relationships correctly...

Anyway, I'm setting up a gradebook.  I have tables:

StudentInfo
      Enrollment_StudentsAndClasses
      Classes
      Assignments
      Scores

I'd like to be able to create a class set of records in the scores table after I create an assignment record.  The assignment table has info on which classes are related to the assignment, so I want it to in turn look to the enrollment_StudentsAndClasses table to identify which StudentID 's are enrolled in that class.  Then I want a record created in the scores table for each studentID.

I assume I need a script to do this unless there is a better set-up of tables or some FM tool that I don't understand.

Thanks for any help.

FMRelationships.jpg

• 1. Re: Create related records
          philmodjunk

Yep, a script is required. You might also want to add a second table occurrence of Scores to your graph and link it by student ID to Enrollment_Students so you can see total scores etc. for a given student.

Here's your script:

From your assignments layout where you've just created a new assignment record, click a button with this script:

IF [Not IsEmpty ( Enrollment_Student::Student ID ) ]
                 Freeze Window
                 Set Variable [$ClassID ; Value: Assignments::ClassID]
                 Set Variable [$AssignmentID ; Value: Assignments::AssignmentID ]
                 Go To Related Record [Show only related Records ; From Table: Enrollment_Student; using Layout "Enrollment_Student" (Enrollment_Student)]
                 Loop
                         Set variable [$studentID ; value: Enrollment_Student::Student ID ]
                         Go To Layout [Scores(scores)]