1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2011 2:13 PM by philmodjunk

Create Report using 2 Tables

LarryMadden

Title

Create Report using 2 Tables

I am new to Filemaker Pro and I am trying to create a report using 2 tables.

I am trying to build a mini warehouse database.  I am trying to create a report based on 2 tables (contract & ware#).  The contract table draws info from several tables including Ware#.  It is the main table in which information is collect to create a contract between the renter and the owner.

I am wanting create a report that shows all vacant warehouses.

In the contract table, I am using the following fields:

Contract Date, Client Name, Warehouse #, Termination Date (There are other fields but I thought these were the only ones necessary, really don't even need Client Name).

What I was thinking was:

1) If Warehouse # has an associated contract date and no termination date, then the warehouse # is not vacant.

2) If Warehouse # is not in a contract, then it is vacant.

3) If Warehouse # has an associated contract date and does have a termination date, the unit is vacant.

I suppose a query needs to be run on the contract table to find all Warehouse #'s that have a Contract Date and no Termination Date and then compare to the Ware# table that includes all units to find the vacant units.

I don't know how to do this.

Any help would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: Create Report using 2 Tables
          philmodjunk

How have you related the two tables?

Like this?

Warehouse::Warehouse # = Contracts::Warehouse #

You need to perform a find on Warehouse as you need to find all warehouse records that meet either criteria 2 (no contract) or 3) Contract has Termination date < today's date.

It depends on whether or not Contracts contains multiple (past) contracts for the same warehouse or not. If it doesn't, simply search for <= today's date in the termination date field from your warehouse based layout.