5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2012 1:57 PM by bennyhendrikx

create year archive

bennyhendrikx

Title

create year archive

The goal is make an Archive for orders by year, 

detail information about records : 

have a table orders  with a date field  (full date)  and a year field (Year ( datum )) works fine 

now i want to place all records in the year 2011 to a new (table or file )  not sure what would will be the best 

on the opening page i have a drop down field  (year)  i want that it only shows data from that year  

wondering what will give the best results, archive yearly or montly , to another file or in the same database,

(lets say that the buisniss populate about 500 orders each year)

• 1. Re: create year archive
          JimOrozco

I am new to FM, so I decided to use VTC's training program. In that I think what you could use quite easily is the Table Find Function. You can store the finds and pull just the data of your find. I will say that at $30.00 a month for this training it is well worth it. Try the Find and stored Find for your problem.

Hope it helps,

Jim

• 2. Re: create year archive
            philmodjunk

What is the purpose for putting all of the year's orders in a separate table or file?

What issues does that solve for you?

If you separate your data by year, you will be limited to looking at/working with your data to just one year at a time and you also have a more complex database structure.

We have an "archives" file to which we export data on a regular basis, but it stores data for multiple years. It's a big file, but the multi-year data set allows us to pull up 5 year comparison reports fo the summarized data that we could not produce with separate, single year copies of our data.

• 3. Re: create year archive
              bennyhendrikx

Thx Jim , will have a look in to it. 

Best Phil , 

1. for the fiscal i need to safe invoices by year , 

So phill as try to understand ,