8 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2010 9:22 PM by OptimusPrime

Creating a button that, when pressed, would duplicate fields I have created and enter new data.

OptimusPrime

Title

Creating a button that, when pressed, would duplicate fields I have created and enter new data.

Hello FMPro gurus...

Please help.

I'm very new to FileMaker Pro, I'm using FMPro 11. Mac OSX.

What I'm trying to ask or achieve is this, I've created a database that has fields.

Is there a way to create a button that will duplicate fields that I've already created and input new data on them.

I don't want to duplicate the whole form or all fields, just 3 or 5 fields that would make me enter new data.

For Example, I have an institution called BASKET and I have 3 computers there.

I have a field for INSTITUTION then fields for COMPUTER MAKE, COMPUTER SERIAL NO. and COMPUTER WARRANTY

Of course I will create these just once but is there a way that I can create a button that would enable me to duplicate the last 3 fields so that I can just input more and more computers as they grow?

I've Tried bento and bento can display TABLES inside the Form view, I don't think FMPro can. Correct me if I'm mistaken.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Creating a button that, when pressed, would duplicate fields I have created and enter new data.
          LaRetta_1

If you already have fields for COMPUTER MAKE, COMPUTER SERIAL NO. and COMPUTER WARRANTY then you don't need to duplicate the fields.  It might help to understand some FileMaker terminology:

You have a file and this file has tables (not really databases). Your break your data into logical tables, such as Institutions might be in one table and Computers would be in another.  You add fields to your Computers table (serial number, warranty, Institution which owns it etc) and then create a record for each computer.  Does this help?  Ask more questions as needed. :smileyhappy: