12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2010 11:59 AM by selmorzine

Creating a Calculation to set a date in the future

selmorzine

Title

Creating a Calculation to set a date in the future

Hi,

I am new to FM pro 11 and need to find out how to do the following;

I have built a booking system where with every new booking, it creates a booking date. I need to create a calculation so that I can set in another field a deposit due date and booking due date.

The deposit due date will be based on 6wks after the booking date and booking due date needs to be based on 6 wks prior to the arrival date.

How do I do this? Can anyone help me please?

Many thanks,

Sally

• 1. Re: Creating a Calculation to set a date in the future
          LaRetta_1

Both new dates should be standard dates with auto-enter (replace) by calculation.  This allows for exceptions.

Deposit Due date:  BookingDate + 6 * 7

Booking Due date:  ArrivalDate - 6 * 7

UPDATE:  The (replace) portion on the auto-enter dates means that you should uncheck 'Do not Replace Existing value if any."

• 2. Re: Creating a Calculation to set a date in the future
            LaRetta_1

And yes, you can just add or subtract 42.  I used 6 * 7 to indicate '6 weeks' for clarity.  I was teased about using it instead of 42.  :smileyvery-happy:

• 3. Re: Creating a Calculation to set a date in the future
              selmorzine

Brilliant, I will give this a go! I am new to designing my own so not get on the calculation front.

Thanks

• 4. Re: Creating a Calculation to set a date in the future
                selmorzine

Once I go to specify the calculation, I have choosen booking date then + 6*7 or + 42 and then ok but it doesn't seem to work. I have removed all formatting from the date. Is there anything else that I haven't ticked or done?

Thanks,

Sally

• 5. Re: Creating a Calculation to set a date in the future
                  LaRetta_1

Hi Sally,