7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2014 10:40 AM by philmodjunk

Creating a Color-cycling button

EvanSeccombe

Title

Creating a Color-cycling button

I apologize if this has been explained in another post. I'm an absolute noob to this program--just started learning it today--and I've got zero programming background. Creating fields is easy enough, but I've got a task for an asset management that needs problem solving.

For digital asset tracking I'd like to create a button that, when clicked, cycles through 1 of 5 colors.  (Blue, green, red, yellow, and orange.) They represent different stages of approval from our department head and this system is used across multiple documents.  Having a button that just rotates through these colors as the approval status changes would make it very easy.

• 1. Re: Creating a Color-cycling button
          philmodjunk

You'll need a field to store the values 1 through 5. Your button's script will do two things to cycle the colors:

Increment the value of the field by 5, either stopping at 5 or returning to 1 depending on the results that you want.

Then it either does a refresh object (FileMaker 13) on the button or Refresh Window (Older versions) to force the button's conditional formatting to update.

And that's what you can set up to get 5 different fill colors.

Set up a portal filter expression such as:

YourTable::Status = 1

and specify a fill color.

Then add a second expression:

YourTable::Status = 2 and choose a different fill color

Repeat until you have one portal filter expression for each possible value of the status field

• 2. Re: Creating a Color-cycling button
            EvanSeccombe

Re: PhilModJunk's response

I'm sure you're correct...but I just have no idea what any of what you said means.

I've tried creating a portal, but it doesnt let me select a field of any kind...That's aside from the fact that I can't find out how to create a field that simply stores the values 1,2,3,4,5.