7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2013 4:07 PM by JimMac

Creating a Database from Nothing

WilliamChastain

Title

Creating a Database from Nothing

Hello!

I am new to Filemaker and this is literally my first day using the program. I've been tasked with compiling a list of plays used by various professors for the Theatre Department of a university. So I would need 4 basic fields:

1) Instructor

2) Play

3) Course

4) Semester

The database is to go back two years and some of the plays are taught by various professors in different classes. The entire point of this database is so professors can avoid teaching the same plays at the same times or so that they can use them to supplement their colleagues classes. So preferably, I'd like to have the play in the database it have different values (Taught in Theatre 2000 AND Theatre 4300) and by professor (taught by Johnson AND Williams). If this makes any sense I would be greatly appreciative if someone could give me some jumping on points to make this a reality. 

• 1. Re: Creating a Database from Nothing
          JimMac

We were all NEW.  I always suggest write down the "paper" method first to see how  you want to make your FMP DB flow.  Then decide on what OUTPUT you want to see.  Then the INPUT will glare at you.

After the "paper" flow... then encoding in FMP becomes fairly easy.

Jim...

• 2. Re: Creating a Database from Nothing
            schamblee

Good Advice for anyone at any level, Jim.  Start with the basics.  Most people want to skip this first step, when can save hundreds of hours of work.

• 3. Re: Creating a Database from Nothing
              philmodjunk

And you will likely need quite a bit more than the 4 fields you have specified so far. Sounds like you need some additional tables with relationships as well in order to document the "scheduling" of each play's use by an instructor.

• 4. Re: Creating a Database from Nothing
                SteveMartino