3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2013 1:13 PM by philmodjunk

Creating a funnel within Filemaker Database

jwatsoniv

Title

Creating a funnel within Filemaker Database

Hello, 

I am a recruiting manager that deal with a large amount of resumes, interviews, 2nd interviews etc..  What I am trying to do is create a "funnel within filemaker.  

I may have hundreds of resumes loaded into filemaker and we offer an interview to numerous people (say around 20 to 30). What I want to do is funnel those 20 or 30 resumes into an even smaller group of people on a different tab.  So lets say out of the 30 interview we conducted I want to bring 10 back for a 2nd interview I want to move their resume information into the 2nd interview tab. 

How can I do that?  Any help someone could give me on this would be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Creating a funnel within Filemaker Database
          philmodjunk

If each step in the process updates a record in your database, a find or a relationship can be set up to match to those specific records.

So if you set a field named "call back" to a value, then a portal on that tab can either match to those records via a relationship or a portal filter can filter out all but related recorsd with those values.

• 2. Re: Creating a funnel within Filemaker Database
            jwatsoniv

OK I think I am tracking you.  So I have created a new table with the record information i need to pull from the existing resumes.  How do I set the relationship as to where I a set a field name such as "call back" on the original record and it will pull all of that record's information to my new table?  

• 3. Re: Creating a funnel within Filemaker Database
              philmodjunk

The Data Model--your tables and relationships, is key to getting this to work. I suspect that you need a minimum of three tables:

Applicants-----<Applicant_Position>-------Positions

Applicants::__pkApplicantID = Applicant_Position::_fkApplicantID