5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2010 4:22 PM by philmodjunk

Creating a layout/table that only contains selected records

LisetteG

Title

Creating a layout/table that only contains selected records

I am working with Filemaker Pro 10 on a Mac OS X 10.6.2 system and I'm pretty new to Filemaker Pro. Out database is a pretty simple set-up  - the records mostly consist of member contact and biographical information. We are currently updating contact information and collecting photographs, PDF files, and biographical information for every member. I work for an international educational grant program and we are currently trying to consolidate and update information for every grantee. We currently have 1600 records and have 5 interns locating and updating information for 200-300 members each. Their batch is mostly sorted and distributed by year, but the batches have a lot of random records in them. I'm basically trying to figure out if there is way to create a layout/table for each intern that will only contain their batch of records, so that they can easily search and filter within those records. Any advice on how to somehow go about this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Creating a layout/table that only contains selected records
          ninja

Howdy LisetteG,

Welcome to the forum.

I don't see anything in your post that hints at an intern not being ALLOWED to see a particular record, so I wont get into reccord access privileges.  Lets start with convenience...thats what I see you asking for.

Each record should be tagged with the person who is responsible for updating it.  Each intern, then, can search for their name in that field and be left with a 'found set' of their own records.

Create a field called "intern" and place it on the layout.

If desired, look under Format>Sliding and Printing and check off not to print this field.

Now create a custom value list under File>Manage>Value Lists and type in your 5 account names.