4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2010 12:15 PM by daybreak

creating a new database

daybreak

Title

creating a new database

I am a beginner in databases…I would like to build a database that keeps track of my insect survey work.  I will have different surveys.  Each survey will have different locations that I visit numerous times and I want a list of the dragonfiles or butterflies I observe.  I could see many species on a given day.  I’m confused on how many tables I need.  One for surveys, observations and species?  And then if I list the species in a portal how do I get the list of species out of a portal into a report?   Thanks for listening!  I have FileMaker 10.

• 1. Re: creating a new database
          philmodjunk

You'll probably want to invest in a book on Filemaker or run some tutorials. We'll be glad to help you all we can, but such resources will help you out a lot as you get started.

You'll need a number of related tables and only you the user/designer can make the final call on exactly how many tables you need. It may help to picture writing down this information in a series of lists with each list limited to a specific type of information. Each such list could become a table in your database.

I think you'd need at least the following tables for recording observations:

Species (1 record = 1 insect species)

Include fields to record names of species and any other species specific info you need.

Add a speciesID serial number field to make it easier to link a record from this table to a records in a related table.

Surveys (1 record = 1 specific survery)

include fields for date of survey and any other pertinent data that describes the entire survey.

SurveyID (serial number)

Locations (1 record = 1 location surveyed)