1 2 Previous Next 27 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2014 3:47 AM by GuyStevens

Creating a Physical Inventory Database

ZoeCrafton

Title

Creating a Physical Inventory Database

I am somewhat new to Filemaker and have got some basics down but I have reached a point where I am stuck. i am only vaguely familiar with scripts and I think thats where my break down is.

I have an Invenotry database of product for my store that I have built and I have created two portals to keep track of my invoices and my sales reports. Essentially one is what I receive and one is what goes out. 

The problem I have is taking physical counts which i do weekly. What I have been doing is copying my filemaker file every week taking the counts and then saving the file with the week as the name. I am trying to figure out how to keep each week in one database. I thought making another portal as a ledger might work, but I cant wrap my head around how to make it add a week for every item in my inventory.

I have basically reached the extent of my knowledge and cant figure out how to fine tune and simplify my database.

Screen_Shot_2013-04-19_at_3.11.05_PM.png

• 1. Re: Creating a Physical Inventory Database
          schamblee

Here is a sample that might get you started.

https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D9559058_790_062480517

This basic sample is to give you an idea on how to track the information.  I didn't get into making a layout with portal or report to view a given week.

• 2. Re: Creating a Physical Inventory Database
            GuyStevens

Hi Zoe,

The idea would be that you have a list of products in one table.

And another table that acts like a sort of "transactions" table where you enter items bought (things you put into your stock) and items sold.

You enter a certain date and note the ProductId. Then you have one field for + (bought) and one for - (sold).