1 2 Previous Next 27 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2012 8:21 AM by blewvelvet

Creating a Portal to It's Own Table...

ThomasKitts

Title

Creating a Portal to It's Own Table...

I'm quite new to FMP and wish to ask a simple question before I try to to frame it in a more complex way. (I'm still figuring out FMP's basics and may be attempting to do something which cannot be done.)

Question: Is it possible to create a Table Portal, and place it on the Form View of itself?

For example:

I want to create an 'Addressbook' which will allow me to enter and display individual contact information in the Form View. But to the left of that information, I'd like to place an alphabetized portal which contains ALL the names I enter into the parent table (itself) -- with the idea of being able to click on a name and having the Form View jump to that contact information.

Is this even possible? Seems basic to me, but I've been beating my head against this approach for a day now and maybe it can't be done.

And, if doing this somehow will cause the Universe to implode in an infinite loop, well, do let me know . . . (grin)

TIA,

Thokitts

• 1. Re: Creating a Portal to It's Own Table...
          philmodjunk

What you want to do can be done, but it requires adding a new table occurrence of your AddressBook data source table.

Tutorial: What are Table Occurrences?

• 2. Re: Creating a Portal to It's Own Table...
            ThomasKitts

Great. Your answer is much appreciated. I'll read the link in depth and try to absorb it.