11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2014 2:23 PM by philmodjunk

Creating a relational database

LeoIstuse

Title

Creating a relational database

I'm very new to Filemaker Pro (version 13.0v3), but I had some experience creating databases long ago. When I open 'Manage Database' there's only the first table I opened in the 'Table'-tab. In the 'Fields'-tab all fields are there, but in de 'Relations'-tab all the related tables are depicted, because I used the 'Add a table'-button there. However, I'm not sure it will work this way.  This window is called 'Manage Database' with the name of the first (and only) table.

How can there be more tables in this database? (BTW: is the term 'file' in the manual referring to 'database', or is it something else?).

Thanks for your input on this.
           Leo

• 1. Re: Creating a relational database
          philmodjunk

You don't have tables in Manage | Database | Relationships. You have Table Occurrences. See this tutorial: Tutorial: What are Table Occurrences?

• 2. Re: Creating a relational database
            LeoIstuse

Thanks for your reply. Interesting tutorial, learned quite a few things.
                 I think my question was not clear. Why can all occurrences be seen in the 'Relations' tab, but not in the 'Tables' tab? This tab says "A file can contain more than one table.". Yes, but how? Can I put already made tables here?

• 3. Re: Creating a relational database
              philmodjunk

Table occurrences are NOT tables. They may have identical names at times, but they are different objects.

Look again at your tables tab. you should find that you have one table listed on the left and many table occurrences listed on the right.

Note the circled text in this screen shot.

• 4. Re: Creating a relational database
                philmodjunk