8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2009 1:18 PM by BMarot

Creating a Report (Filemaker Pro 10: Mac)

BMarot

Title

Creating a Report (Filemaker Pro 10: Mac)

I have no past experience using Filemaker, however, I have recently been hired to create a simple database contaning a number of fields (30+) pertaining to animals used in a research setting.  This will most likely be set up as a list view (similar to the appearance of a spreadsheet).  Due to the high number of fields, many of them will be off the screen.

I am wondering if there is any way to perform a search where only the fields that were searched will be displayed?  For example, someone may enter a search for: Contrast Agent, Respiratory Rate, Animal Type.  Is there a way to have the search results display just those three fields? 

I know it would be possible to create a new layout/report that just includes those fields, but that is very inefficient.

Thanks for the help!

Brad 

• 1. Re: Creating a Report (Filemaker Pro 10: Mac)
          philmodjunk

"I am wondering if there is any way to perform a search where only the fields that were searched will be displayed?  For example, someone may enter a search for: Contrast Agent, Respiratory Rate, Animal Type.  Is there a way to have the search results display just those three fields? "

Not exactly, but if you use a Table View layout, a user can use the Modify... button (top right corner, in the task bar) to select which fields will be visible each time they need to do this.

• 2. Re: Creating a Report (Filemaker Pro 10: Mac)
            BMarot
               Thanks for the quick reply!  I'll try your suggestion out once I've got the solution up and running.
            • 3. Re: Creating a Report (Filemaker Pro 10: Mac)
              TKnTexas