9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2012 1:45 PM by philmodjunk

Creating a report based on selected checkboxes

TBond

Title

Creating a report based on selected checkboxes

I'm extremely new to the advanced features of Filemaker, so I'm not sure how to ask this question.

What I have is a list of specifications based on materials... if a project uses aluminum, then the report needs to include aluminum specifications. I would like to have a checkbox list of all possible materials and then an automated report that includes information for ONLY the checked items.

Any suggestions for how to set this up?

• 1. Re: Creating a report based on selected checkboxes
          philmodjunk

There are multiple ways to do this. A more complete description of your database structure would help us narrow down that list of possible approaches. Do you have a table of materials and a table of specification records such as the aluminum specs that you mention? (I used to manage a specifications database--both purchased materials and manufacturing specs, so this is a familiar subject.)

• 2. Re: Creating a report based on selected checkboxes
            TBond

Right now I don't have anything set up. In the past we've done this by hand, starting with a master Word document, deleting the material sections that don't apply, and renumbering. So we have the information, but no database.

Could this be built to also auto-number the sections?

• 3. Re: Creating a report based on selected checkboxes
              philmodjunk

I suggest that you back up and work out a basic approach for what you need to do to manage your specifications from a database.

These specs could be purchase specs---specs that tell your vendors what you expect from them when you purchase their material and which your QA department references for doing QA tests on incoming material.