9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2015 7:20 AM by philmodjunk

Creating a role-playing game database, need help with inventories.

zz_1

Title

Creating a role-playing game database, need help with inventories.

Hello,

I'm creating a role-playing game database with NPCs, items, skills etc. and I was wondering how to display a list of both items and skills on the NPC record, with certain fields affecting the NPC; for example, the "attack" value of the item/skill affecting the total "attack" of the NPC?

Also, is it possible to have more than one of the same items on that list?

Thank you in advance. I'm still new to this software and still learning, so I apologize if my questions come with an obvious answer.

• 1. Re: Creating a role-playing game database, need help with inventories.
          philmodjunk

Yes and rule one of asking for help is to use abbreviations and jargon with care as the person reading your post might not know what "NPC" means. I used to mess around with early RPG systems in college decades ago (D&D, Arduin Grimoire...), but "NPC" means what exactly?

This sounds like a kind of modified contact manager where each contact is a character in the game and the contact record--instead of recording name, address, job title, social media links, phone numbers, etc, it records data about that character. Lists of information associated with a given character can be created in a related table and displayed in a portal and there is no reason why such a set of records or any other kind of list save a use values from field value list, can't list the same item more than once.

This has me feeling nostalgic. It was designing a database in BASIC (Not visual Basic) on an old TimeShare minicomputer at the local JC in order to manage a lot of the minutia of running a game that changed my Major from PreMed to CompSci...

• 2. Re: Creating a role-playing game database, need help with inventories.
            zz_1

Thank you for your answer!