10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2012 8:25 PM by Philosofy

Creating a rolling twelve month report

Philosofy

Title

Creating a rolling twelve month report

I'm brand new to Filemaker Pro.  My company supplies me my sales data in either an Excel or .csv format.  I've figured out how FMP can import the file, but I'm having problems.  Each month from the last 5 years has its own column for both the quantitiy I sold and the dollar value.  I would like to organize my data in a rolling twelve month report: the column headings would be:

Customer

Manufacturer of Product

Product Name

Product Package Size

Month

Under each month would be a cell for the lbs sold, and one for the $ amount, with totals for each customer.  

I would like the report to only include the last twelve months data.  Is there a way to do that?

Thanks!

Phil

• 1. Re: Creating a rolling twelve month report
          philmodjunk

Unfortunately, the structure of your Excel or CSV file does not lend itself to making this as easy to do if each row in the file was a different month.

You'll need a way to get the data into a table where you have one record for each cell in your columns of monthly data as seen in Excel. Then you can set up filtered portals such that you select a month/year in a global field and that set's up what data appears in the one portal with each of 11 additional portals then computing a portal filter that is one month different from that specified month and year to get columns of data for each month of your 12 month time frame.

You can use a variety of methods to get the data in that structure. You can import repeatedly, importing one month's data into the same field of new records each time you import, You can import all the data at once into an interim table, then use a script that loops through fields and records to split up the data into new records in the table you need for your report--just to name two approaches that might work.