3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2013 9:30 AM by philmodjunk

Creating a scroll down list of contacts based on type

MvpPosch

Title

Creating a scroll down list of contacts based on type

Hey, 

I am fairly new to file maker. I have created a contact database that has profiles for each contact and that specifies the type of the contact. I then have added seperate layouts for each contact type to show different information depending on type. What I am looking for is a way to add a field to each layout that lets me scroll through and select a contact based on their full name. When I then select the full name that contacts profile shows up. I also am looking for the same thing without the conditional value of type. (See image, c_full name)

thanks in advance for your help.

image.jpg

• 1. Re: Creating a scroll down list of contacts based on type
          philmodjunk

If you press Print Scrn on your keyboard, you get a screen shot of your system that you can paste into WIndows Paint and then you can save the file as png and use the controls below Post A Answer to upload that image as part of your post. Alt-Prt Scrn captures an image of whatever window currently has the focus on your system.

A drop down list of all contacts or all contacts for a selected type is possible. If you want to limit the contacts to a specific type, this becomes a conditional value list. I've includes some links on the subject below. There are two options for setting such up, what you describe can be best handled with a relationship.

And you can also use a portal to list your contacts with a relationship or portal filter that limits the contacts listed to a specific contact type. In this second approach, you'd use button setup to turn your full name field into a button that performs a script that enters data from the selected portal record into a field or fields of the current record on your layout.

A possible script for that could be as simple as a single set field step: