5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2011 9:10 AM by philmodjunk

Creating a Search Form

FKonopatski

Title

Creating a Search Form

I am still very new to FileMaker and to "programming".  I am making great progress, but I'm stuck on making the DB more streamlined.

I am using the Contact Management template and I would like to create a form to use as a search instead of the preinstalled search function.  Specifically, I would like a user to search using multiple criteria (they can either search by one field or using multiple fields to produce more direct results) to produce results that would appear in a nice and easy table that they could be printed or emailed.  I don't know how dynamic FileMaker is, but it would also be beneficial if you could select what fields to be printed/emailed (so this way SSNs wouldn't be blasted out in the open).

Is there a way to make this happen in Filemaker....or better yet....is there a template that has a search form in it that I could modify to fit my DB?

Thank you to anyone that can help out!!!

• 1. Re: Creating a Search Form
          philmodjunk

There are several different tasks to accomplish to get what you want here:

1. Creating a search layout--either as part of the current layout, in a different layout or even in a small window that pops up.
          2. Creating a script that uses the criteria entered in fields of this form to find records.
          3. Presenting the records thus found in a report layout.
          4. Making the report layout dynamically configurable so that the user can specify what fields will be included in the report and which will not.

1-3 are pretty straight forward once you acquire some basic scripting steps. Item 4 is not something that's easy to do in FileMaker. If you can set up several different layouts and allow the user to choose from those layouts, this will be much simpler to implement and the results will likely look more professional.