7 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2010 6:58 AM by needsolution

Creating database with different needs/outcomes

needsolution

Title

Creating database with different needs/outcomes

Hi,

I am fairly new to using Filemaker Pro and use version 10.  I am trying to create a database that will provide mailing contact addresses for letters and avery labels.   I have two tables that require connecting (table 1 is MPs and table 2 is our organizations) but not always for the same reasons.  What is the best way to develop such a database?  The MP table updates roughly every 4 years and the organizations table has constant changes.

How do I make this work if I want to generate letters and mailing addresses from the following queries?

1.  to MPs where we have our organizations

2.  to MPs where we do not have our organizations

3.  to MPs on the outskirts where we have our organizations (no overlaps)

4.  to MPs on the outskirts where we do not have our organizations (no overlaps)

5.  to MPs where we have multiple organizations in same district

How do I connect the tables to retrieve what I want?

Thanks for any input.

needsolution

• 1. Re: Creating database with different needs/outcomes
          fitch

Can the MP belong to more than one organization? If so, it's generally best to connect it using a "join" table, e.g. "Memberships," which will contain one record for each connection of MP/org, with fields containing the primary key of those tables.

Can the MP belong to more than one district?

I'm not clear on what is meant by "on the outskirts" and "no overlaps."

• 2. Re: Creating database with different needs/outcomes
            needsolution

Fitch,

Thank you for responding.

Yes, an MP can have more than one organization.  How do I "join" ?

No, an MP has only one district.

Outskirts is the surrounding district in which the primary organization and MP reside; e.g. Core is org/Mp; Tier 1 is the surrounding districts connected to core.