3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2012 11:30 AM by philmodjunk

Creating dropdown lists from a child table

RachelG

Title

Creating dropdown lists from a child table

Hello,

I am very new to Filemaker.  I am using 10.0v3.  I am not as new to relational database design. 

I have two tables- an Organization table and a Religions table. Each organization can only be associated with one religion. I set my religions up in a separate table because I may use this table for other relationships as the project expands. Each religion has a Religion_ID_pk that I have as a fk in my org table.

In the data entry screen I would like the list of religions from my religions table to appear as a drop down for a user to select from and then have the org table store the associated Religion_ID assigned that religion. I am having trouble with this.  Could anyone lend some insight?  

thanks

• 1. Re: Creating dropdown lists from a child table
          philmodjunk

Open Manage | value lists and click new to start a new value lists.

Enter a name for your value list and select the "Use values from Field" option.

In the left hand drop down, select an occurrence of your Religion table. Then click Religion_ID_PK to select this primary key as the value for this "first field". Then select the "Also display values from second field" check box and select the name field from your religions field for field 2. If you click ok at this point and use this value list with a drop down list or pop up menu, you'll see a two column list of values with the ID in column 1 and the name in column 2. If, however, you select the "show values only from second field" option, then the ID's will not show in the value list. In either case, selecting a value from this value list enters the ID of the relgion you select from the value list.