7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 28, 2011 1:17 AM by Sorbsbuster

Creating Equations

NickJudson

Title

Creating Equations

Hello Everoyone,

So here is my dilema I have a database for document serivces at my work. When we are filling a record out we want the paper price to be filled automatically based on specific specifications. For example if you see the image I added, I want the paper price to fill automatically when someone chooses a paper size, paper quality, and paper type. For the image I added the paper price should be $.15 a sheet. I have no idea where to even being to since I am still a beginner at filemaker. If anyone needs more information please don't hesitate to ask.

Thanks in advance!

Nick

Screen_shot_2011-09-27_at_4.33.13_PM.png

• 1. Re: Creating Equations
          philmodjunk

Open Manage | Database | Fields and select the table you used for the fields shown in your screen shot.

Enter the name of your Paper Total field in the field name box at the bottom of this window, select calculation and click Create.

This opens the specify calculation dialog.

Find the field for Paper Price and Sheets used in the list of fields at top left in this dailog and double click them to add them to the calculation box at the bottom. Insert the multiplication symbol between them. This should produce an expression that looks like this, but with your field names in place of mine:

Paper Price * Sheets Used

Make sure that "number" is selected in the return type drop down at bottom left in this dialog box.

Click OK twice to dismiss the specify calculation and Manage database dialogs.

Add this new calculation field to your layout and it will compute the price you entered times the number of sheets used.

• 2. Re: Creating Equations
            mgores