9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2009 7:53 AM by TSGal

Creating Folder

smcms

Title

Creating Folder

I am a complete Filemaker novice, but am using a database creation that my predecessor built. I use it for management of a small photography collection. My question is that in our database which consists of approx. 500 records- we would like to create a folder option. In other words a folder inside the template that would apply to all 500 records... but that we could drop PDF's or JPG's for any given record- that would of course be specific to each record. I hope this explains what i want to do. It seems like it should be pretty simple to do- but I can't figure out how to do it exactly... any help would be SO MUCH appreciated. Please remember when you give advice that I am a novice... good at using Filemaker... not so good at building it!

Many thanks!

SMCMS 

• 1. Re: Creating Folder
          TSGal

smcms:

Thank you for your post.

Although there is no "folder" option, you can create a portal into another table that will hold your PDF's and JPG's.

1. Pull down the File menu and select "Manage -> Database..."  Click on the Tables tab and create a new table, "Images".

2. Click on the Fields tab and create the following two fields for the "Images" table.

ID (Text)

Image (Container)

3. If you don't have a key field created in your original table, switch to that table and create an ID field.  If you do have a key field, then continue on.

4. Click on the Relationships tab, and you will see a graphical representation of your tables.  Drag the ID field from the "Images" table to the key/ID field in your original table.  You will now see a line connecting the two tables together with the ID fields at the top of each table.