8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2013 1:17 PM by JimWeeda

Creating List to export from 2 different tables

JimWeeda

Title

Creating List to export from 2 different tables

FileMaker Noob here.  I need to create a customer call list from a couple tables in my filemaker db.  I have my main customer information table which has all land owners and tenants in it.  The way our customer billing system is set up, a piece of property has a location number but can have two different accounts tied to it.  So, my table includes that location number, but can have 2 records under with that same number.  I have another table that I create records in from a .csv file that is exported from another system in the company.  It exports that location number.  I import that .csv into my database and link my two tables with that location number.   What i want to do is create a list that has the customer name and phone number based on the location numbers that i import.  I can't figure out after several hours of dinking around how to create that list.  

So, lets say i have a location number of 00015.  There is a land owner and a tenant listed under that location number in my main table.  When I import my .csv file, its only going to have 00015 listed one time.  I need my new list to pull both records so that when I export, I have everyones name/phone from that single location number I imported.

Thanks in advance!  

• 1. Re: Creating List to export from 2 different tables
          philmodjunk

If I understand you correctly, you have two tables: MainCustomerInformation and then you have Table2 which contains data imported from a source external to FIleMaker. You want to export data from MainCustomerInformation but to include related data from Table2.

What relationship have you defined linking these two tables? What is the match field you have used?