5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2010 8:22 AM by philmodjunk

Creating new records

tricias

Title

Creating new records

Hi to all you experts out there,

My problem is that each time I try to create a new record (by the 'Record' menu or a script) I get the data from the first page of the last record created.  I tried compacting the file which didn't help so I copied a clone then tried a 'Recover'.  This didn't fix it either! 

I am currently using Filemaker Pro 8+ and my database usually lives on a Filemaker Server which I log into remotely and sometimes lose the connection.  I had the file sent to my computer where I have been trying to fix it.  

Any ideas? In simple terms please I'm still a novice.

Kind regards,

Tricia 

• 1. Re: Creating new records
          philmodjunk

Do any of the fields where you see this data have "looked up value" or other auto-enter settings? (Open manage database and double click field definitions to check this out.)

Can you explain a bit more what you mean by "The first page of the last record"?

Is this new behaviour that didn't occur before?

Can you trace it back to when some change was made to your database?

BTW hope you're not still using a 'recovered' copy of your file--that's not "best practice" here.

• 2. Re: Creating new records
            tricias

Yes I do have fields with 'looked up value'  and 'auto-enter data'.  A couple of these are recent!  Should I remove those settings and try?

First page should read first layout of record which is a table that contains name, address, phone and etc.   Next table (& layout) contains 'Emergency Contacts' information and so on.  The first layout a new record opens is the name address phone and etc.

This is new behaviour and yes I've had to make some changes - add more fields.

No I'm not using the 'recovered' copy.  Just thought that may take the bugs out.

Tricia 

• 3. Re: Creating new records
              philmodjunk