11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2011 4:21 PM by philmodjunk

Creating new related records with Client ID and Patient ID already filled in.

CraigKiebler

Title

Creating new related records with Client ID and Patient ID already filled in.

FMP 11

I am trying to set up a database that has tables for veterinary clients, patients, and treatment sessions. I'd like to enter a new client record, then be able to open a new patient record based on the initial client record (each client can have multiple associated patients). Likewise, each patient record would have multiple treatment session records - hence, opening a new session record would be linked to the patient. Basically, I'd like each client ID to be automatically entered onto the patient record when opening a new patient record and each patient ID entered upon opening a new session record.

I've tried to use the 'set file' script, but I can't seem to get it working. Any help would be appreciated. I'm new to FMP and this problem has been nagging at me for hours.

• 1. Re: Creating new related records with Client ID and Patient ID already filled in.
          philmodjunk

The details depend on your relationships and the design of your layouts.

Starting with the simplest approach:

Define these relationships:

Clients----<Patients---<Treatments

Clients::ClientID = Patients::ClientID   (Enable allow creation of records via this relationship for Patients)
          Patients::PatientID = Treatments::PatientID (Enable allow creation of records via this relationship for Treatments)

Clients::ClieintID and Patients::PatientID should be defined as auto-entered serial numbers.