4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2012 10:04 PM by RyanMcCoy

Creating proper relationship

RyanMcCoy

Title

Creating proper relationship

I'll be the first to admit that I am fairly new to using FMP. I have followed tons of tutorials and searched this forum, but can not seem to find an answer specific to my problem.  I will put it as simply as possible:

I have a table specifically for "shows".  Every show has it's own record along with information about it.  

I have a table specifically for "cues".  Every show has several (up to ~1000) cues.  

I need a way to link the shows and cues together.   I would like to have the "cue_id" field in the "cues" table to be the unique key.  I would like it to be something like "showName_venue_cueNumber".  Hopefully you can understand what I am trying to do.  I admittedly do not understand how to create relationships properly, so as in-depth as you could put your reply, the better.  

Thanks!

ss3.PNG

• 1. Re: Creating proper relationship
          RickWhitelaw

The Shows table should have an auto enter serial ID. Your other tables should each be related directly to the Shows table and not serially connected. Otherwise, for example, you won't be able to create records of Personnel if there is not a match record in Venues. Records In the three child tables will inherit the PK from Shows. Create a field in each child table as a match field and each record will inherit the ID from Shows. Cues can be sorted as you wish.

• 2. Re: Creating proper relationship
            RyanMcCoy

I added the auto enter serial ID field to the shows table.  It is called show_id.