3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2010 12:21 PM by philmodjunk

Creating records via relationship for a touring band

ekloeselvp88

Title

Creating records via relationship for a touring band

I am a fairly new user to FMP and am using FMP 10 advanced.  I m currently building a solution to help me.  I am a tour manager for a band and am building a solution to keep track of information and to help speed me up.  I have several tables, I have a table named "Show Advance", one named "Media", "Interviews", "Venue Info"

I am having a couple of major problems so far.

I do all of my work in my "Show Advance"  I create daily updates in this table.  This table is linked to the various others a nd some of them linked to others.  Each of the fields have key fields with auto created serial numbers.  On the "Show advance" file there are two sections titled "Media1" and Media2" within each of these sections are fields titled "media1 address, media1 city, media1 state, etc" and "media2 address, media2 city, etc".  Basically what these two sections do is tell me who to call for each show we are playing.  I only have one table that stores all of the different media information, "media".  I want to be able to select from a key field and it auto look up each media outlet and place all of the information in its respected field.  There will be two different media outlets i.e. "media1 and media2"

The problem is that when you select a particular media it puts the same address in both media1 and media2 because currently I am using the auto enter look up feature.  Is there another way to do this?  I thought about creating a two different tables "media1 and media2" and then using the look up feature.  but the problem I have then is when I enter create a record into Media1 I want it to auto create a new record in media2 and auto inter all of the information that I key into the fields in media1 into media 2 information so that I wouldn't have to key the same information in twice?