5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2011 11:45 AM by philmodjunk

Creating report database

GregHarris

Title

Creating report database

I'm having difficutly getting some concepts down.  I'm fairly new to FM, the application, not necessarily to DBs. However, I feel like I am making this way harder than it needs to be.

I've got a templated contact management DB with multiple tables and files.  I want to create some custom reports, keeping a copy of the data.  Also, given the expected size of the original files, I need to put the reports in their own file.

The problem that I am having is getting the data out of the main file and into the reports file.

I've got a find script in the main file, based on a layout, giving me the correct fields and the correct finds.

I've got the script going between scripts and windows.

I can't seem to pass the data between the scripts that access different files.

Does anybody have a good tutorial or starting place to see how this works?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Creating report database
          philmodjunk

I would keep the report layouts in the same file. Then there is no need to pass the data from one file to another. Adding 4, 5 , 50 more layouts to your file will not greatly increase the size of the file and this increase in size really shouldn't be an issue.

To pass data from one script to another you have several different "buckets" you can put the data in to make it available from the other script.

You can pass data in the script parameter and there are several ways to combine multiple items in the same parameter string. The other script then uses Get ( ScriptParameter ) to access this data.

You can use Set Variable to put the value in a global variable. The other script can then refer to the global variables. Global variables start with $$ instead of $. Global variables created in on file cannot be accessed by a script running in another file, however.