3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2012 9:45 PM by philmodjunk

creating updated version of an existing record

TheoCheung

Title

creating updated version of an existing record

hi all, im new to filemaker pro, i have a database which will have numbers generated automatically by using the script function, is there a script function which can be called upon which when duplicating/creating a record: 

1. can allow the user to assign a version number

2. use a previously generated number and type a version i.e A,B etc without affecting the auto gen count

many thanks for any advice

• 1. Re: creating updated version of an existing record
          philmodjunk

2. I suggest linking old and new versions of your data in their respective records to the same related table to get the number generated as an auto-entered serial number. This will keep it from changing when you duplicate a record as both old and new copies would link to the same related number. The script can then update a second field with the next revision letter in the series.

Example:

YourTable::__pkInternalIDSerialNumber = Numbers::_fkInternalID

__pkINternalIDSErialNumber is an auto-entered serial number that is NOT the number you are discussing here. An auto-entered serial number in the Numbers table will server for that. You can then combine a "revisionLetter" field in YourTable with the serial number for Numbers to get the version numbering that you want.

• 2. Re: creating updated version of an existing record
            TheoCheung

thanks phil for your reply, just want to ask some questions about your recommended approach, i can't quite get my head round the formula for the script

do i create 2 ID fields (one with auto generated numbers, another without) and then one field for the versioning number?, the version number field will equate to the duplicated ID field?

• 3. Re: creating updated version of an existing record
              philmodjunk