7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 4, 2013 9:04 AM by philmodjunk

Crosschecking External File

icelille999

Title

Crosschecking External File

Hello

I'm quite new to Filemaker and scripting. I'm having an issue with having the ability to create something for me which would cross check 1-2 specific fields in a certain records that have different certain codes in an external file. I attempted to create some sort of solution by creating a calculation field, with the following inside: 

In Kit =

If ( Inventory::Manufacturer Part Number = 2::Vendor Part Number; 2::Assembly Number ; "false")

With that, the only solution I ever get is false.. but I double checked the names and how to format an if command, and it's still wrong. I even tried importing the records into a different table in the same file, but still.. nothing. If someone could please point me to the right direction somehow and help me figure this out, I would be very grateful. 

• 1. Re: Crosschecking External File
          philmodjunk

Inventory::Manufacturer Part Number

refers to the field named "Manufacturer Part Number" via the Tutorial: What are Table Occurrences? in Manage | Database | Relationships named "Inventory".

2::Vendor Part Number

refers to the field named "vendor Part Number" via a Table Occurrence named "2"--a very nondescriptive name for a table occurrence.

Is there a relationship in Manage | Database | Relationship that links "Inventory" to "2"? What are the match fields used in that relationship? What is the operator used?

How are you using this calculation? In a script step? In a field of type Calculation? In an auto-entered calculation?

In what context does this calculation evaluate? From Inventory, 2, or some other table occurrence in your database?