14 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2011 9:27 PM by DavidJondreau

Custom Find mode using scripting

TonnyOn

Title

Custom Find mode using scripting

Hello Filemaker pro users,

I am new to filemaker pro 11, I was hoping if any of you can help me out. I want to use scripting with a custom Find mode with my own dialog box that is able to input a word I type up and once I hit ENTER or "go" it will search the database for matching record/s, if there are no matching record/s it will say fail and have a retry button. Also, Once the record is display, I want to click on that record which will take me to another layout, displaying more info on that specific record.

Thank you in advance

• 1. Re: Custom Find mode using scripting
          philmodjunk

Define a text field, gNameSearch, and give it global storage in Field options.

You can use either Show Custom Dialog (Simple but limited) or New Window (complex, a bit "clunky", but much more flexible) to open your dialog with this global field as the place to enter the search text. I'll use Show Custom Dialog for this example:

#Am assuming you are already on the layout where you want to search for records
          Show Custom Dialog ["Please Enter a Name."] //specify gNameSearch as the Input field for this dialog
          Enter Find Mode [] //clear the pause check box
          Set Field [YourTable::TextField ; YourTable::gNameSearch] //this step does not work unless gNameSearch has global storage specified
          Set Error capture [on] //keeps FileMaker Dialog from interrupting script if no records are found.
          Perform Find []
          If [ Get ( FoundSet ) = 0 // no records found.
             Show Custom Dialog ["No records matching " & YourTable::gNameSearch & " were found." ] // Name your buttons Retry, Cancel
             If [ Get ( LastMessageChoice ) = 1 // Retry was clicked]
                Perform Script [//Specify this same script here so that it calls itself]
             End IF