8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2011 7:53 PM by AaronLutze

Custom Interface Design for FileMaker Pro 11

AaronLutze

Title

Custom Interface Design for FileMaker Pro 11

Hi there,

I am a web designer and have my first client looking for a filemaker pro database upgrade. I want to design the interface and am not sure how to best setup the interface with FMP. I am used to using xhtml, css and js to get a web page setup, however, the interface builder appears to be very clunky at best and I am not sure how much custom design I can actually do with FMP.

I have already designed 4 pages in photoshop and the client has approved them, however, I am lost to think how I can transfer nice design, background images and tabs and custom looking buttons into FMP.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

• 1. Re: Custom Interface Design for FileMaker Pro 11
          philmodjunk

Have you read the Instant Web Publishing guide that is found in the Documents sub menu of the Help menu? That's a staring point for figuring out what approach may work for you. If you know how to work with PHP, you can also set up custom web publishing with PHP.

• 2. Re: Custom Interface Design for FileMaker Pro 11
            AaronLutze

Thanks for the pointer Phil. From looking at the document it appears 'Static Publishing' is my pathway to develop on for this job, however, the 'Custom Web Publishing' pathway appears to be more powerful. Sadly it requries the FileMaker Server software, which is $999 and my current business doesn't use FMP much at all yet so I can't justify the investment at this stage.

Out of curiosity, do you know of anyone that runs a business that uses FMP or FMS on scale large enough that it is their primary or a significant form of work and income for them? Is there much work out there in the industry for skilled FMP devs?

Cheers

• 3. Re: Custom Interface Design for FileMaker Pro 11
              philmodjunk