4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2009 1:43 PM by Terri

Custom sort with a value list

Terri

Title

Custom sort with a value list

Hi,

I admit I am new to FileMaker and currently trying to "self-teach." We do have a consultant coming on board soon, but I am sure this is such an easy issue that I thought I could answer it before he got here.

I am trying to create a script with a custom order based on a value list. I have 8 different values:

Core*

Prospector*

Men's

Plus

Liquidations

Home

Kids

Uniform

However, when I do the sort, I want it to put Core and Prospector together and Kids and Uniform together, so that when I go to print mode those two categories are on the same page. I have tried a few different things, including:

"Core*Prospector*"

Core*;Prospector*

Core*:Prospector*

Is this even possible? Or do I need to do Sub-summaries perhaps? Or more than one sort? I know this is easy for those with experience, but the light bulb just isn't going on for me. Any ideas?

• 1. Re: Custom sort with a value list
          TSGal

Terri:

Thank you for your post.

The custom order is based on the values in a value list.  If you have two different values, they cannot be grouped together through the traditional sense.  Instead, create another calculation field as follows:

Case ( <field> = "Core" or <field> = "Prospector" ; "Core & Prospector" ;

<field> = "Kids" or <field> = "Uniform" ; "Kids & Uniform" ;

<field> )

This checks to see if <field> equals either "Core" or "Prospector" and if so, then puts them into a group called "Core & Prospector".  Then, check for "Kids" or "Uniform", and if so, put them into a group named "Kids & Uniform" (or whatever you want to call it).  Otherwise, just use the field value.

This should then get you the groupings you need.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: Custom sort with a value list
            Terri

Hi,