7 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2011 2:38 PM by philmodjunk

Customising the Email Campaign Management  built in solution help

Ricardo

Title

Customising the Email Campaign Management  built in solution help

Dear All,

I'm quite new with Filemaker Pro. I got a basic knowledge about what is going under the hood. Tried but can't modify this "monster". Would you be able to help me with tweaking built in Email Campaign Management solution please. I'm using FM pro 11 on a Mac.

I'm looking to clear indication in contact>contact details tab that email has been sent to this person. The best would be if the title of the most recent sent email campaign will be displayed. If it would be to much hassle could you point me in good direction please.

Thank you Ricardo

• 1. Re: Customising the Email Campaign Management  built in solution help
          bumper

It has been a while since I looked "under the hood" at the email campaign solution and it is quite possibly the most advanced solution in the batch. But I can tell you how I do such things in db I write from scratch. I create an archive log table with fields for the document name, person sent to, date sent, etc. Then at the end of the loop from sending the email (or where ever it fits best in the script) I set the relevant data to variables (or reuse them if they have already been set) and go to the log table, create a new record, set the fields and back to the loop. You might want to trap for errors in case the email doesn't go out.

You didn't say if you were going to use FM's internal SMTP to send the emails or a client. If you use a client and there are Applescripts to get the information out of the email client which could be imported into your Log table. Either way you then relate the Log table back to Contacts using the ContactsID and if you put a portal on the contacts layout you can peruse the emails sent to that contact.

HTH, if not keep asking.