3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2013 4:22 PM by philmodjunk

Customizing Product Catalogue database to include invoices

SamaraAster

Title

Customizing Product Catalogue database to include invoices

I'm creating a product catalogue database which needs to be able to generate invoices for sold items.  

I have created a new layout for the invoices which mostly includes information from my product details page. One of the fields on the invoice layout is the purchaser's name (which comes from my product details page), however I would like to find a way to automatically generate the purchaser's address as well.  My entire database will only have 4 different purchasers. 

Thanks for your help!  I am a filemaker beginner.  

• 1. Re: Customizing Product Catalogue database to include invoices
          philmodjunk

And How is your database currently designed? What tables and relationships do you have. What version of FileMaker are you using? Are you adapting the Invoices Starter Solution File? Adapting the Product Catalog File? Both? or ???

One of the fields on the invoice layout is the purchaser's name (which comes from my product details page),

That doesn't really make sense to me. Why would the purchaser's name come from a product details page? By "page" do you mean "layout"?

Data isn't stored in a layout, it's stored in a field of a table. A layout is then the means we have to see and modify the data in that field.

• 2. Re: Customizing Product Catalogue database to include invoices
            SamaraAster

I'm using the Product Catalogue file. I've kept those table and relationships. 

I'm using Filemaker Pro 12.