1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 30, 2011 8:54 AM by philmodjunk

Data from two files

VincentGuerard

Title

Data from two files

I have a database that I share from Mac to Ipad. ON the Mac I would like to have multimedia field, on the other hand on the iPad I would like to have no multimedia field.

So I figure the best way would be to have 2 files, one for most data (that I can download to iPad) and 1 for the multimedia field

Are there ways to reference a second file?

Yes I'm new to Filemaker or new to current Filemaker, my experience is with a real old version(15 years)

Thanks

Vincent 

• 1. Re: Data from two files
          philmodjunk

Once upon a time, you could only define one table in each FileMaker file. A system of related tables thus required many different files--each with its own table. FileMaker thus had to support what you describe here from the earliest related version (FileMaker 3) and still does.

Go to Manage | Database | Relationships.

Click the New Occurrence button. (Bottom, far left button).

This opens a dialog where you specify what this new "occurrence box" will refer to for its table of records (the data source table). Select "Add FileMaker Data Source" from the Data Source drop down. This opens a dialog box where you can find and select your second FileMaker file. Select it and you'll get yet another window listing the tables in that file. Select the table you want and you now have a reference to that table in the external file. You can link it in relationships and refer to it just as though the table were defined in the local table.

If you open Manage | external data sources, you'll see a list of such external file references where you can manage these references should you need to change or relocate such an external data source.

There are a few issues you'll need to be aware of with a multi-file solution: