2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2011 12:36 PM by RestaurantCharlie

Data Separation/Server Speed Advice

RestaurantCharlie

Title

Data Separation/Server Speed Advice

I've been developing a solution for several months. It is my first FM experience.

The solution is hosted on FMS11 in our main office. We have several locations, so some users are on LAN and others on WAN. Main location's highest available speed is 5mb down 1 mb up. Or branches have the same upload with 2-4 mb down.

As the solution grows more powerfull, performance is starting to really become a problem. There are a lot of scripts that control business logic and automate many complex tasks that use to take a person hours to manualy calculate.

I need advice on two things:

1) Server Speed. How much can the Server internet speed be affecting my performance? There is no faster internet where we are located. My alternative here would be to get a cloud server or host with one of the companies that host FM solutions. Our solution has more than 75 tables, more than 10 tables have over 50,000 records. 1 table has close to a million records and a couple more have half a million records. Agregate calculations and unstored calculations seem to take quite some time, i.e. I have one table with 1,506 records with the fields Part, Week, Location and another table that has the same fields plus the date and quantity which rings it in at about 13,000 records. It concentrates the qty by week on the first table, than calculates the percentage of sales from that part relating the week and location to a sales by location by date table. I have opted more for using replace field instead of unstored calcs, becasue unstored calcs create a lot of lag when scrolling. The replace field (four fields) takes about two minutes. Seems pretty slow to me. I've been using SQL as well, and it seems SQL could to that same operation in less then 10 seconds.