5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2013 10:20 AM by SteveWu

Data transformation

SteveWu

Title

Data transformation

I am new to FMP and I need to reassign data points from one master table to two separate tables. The master table looks like this --

ID      Value1      Value2      Week

101      21             51              1

102      22             50              1     

103      21             52              1     

101      20             49              2

102      19             53              2

101      23             48              3

I would like to reassign the numbers to two tables like these --

Vaule1 table:

ID        Week_1        Week_2        Week_3    

101        21                  20                 23

102        22                  19

103        21

Value2 table:

ID        Week_1        Week_2        Week_3    

101        51                  49                 48

102        50                  53

103        48

I will appreciate any generous input on this matter. Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Data transformation
          philmodjunk

You don't actually need to define additional tables to get your data to display in those two formats. You can do this by adding additional layouts plus a 'self join' relationship that re-arrange your data into this format.

Go to manage | Database | Relationships.

Select the table occurrence box for your existing table and click the duplicate button (two green plus signs). This creates a new occurrence of your existing table, it does not duplicate the actual table. (Click over onto the Tables tab and see what is no shown on that tab.)

Create this relationship:

YourTable::ID = YourTable 2::ID 

I'll use YourTable 2 as the name of the second occurrence, but you can actually rename this occurrence to be something more descriptive if you want.