3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2015 6:24 AM by bobinaustin

Database and Reports for Blood Sugar and Blood Glucose

steppenwolf323

Title

Database and Reports for Blood Sugar and Blood Glucose

Hi! I am a beginner  at this so if my questions seem stupid please forgive me. I need to develop a database that I can record my Blood Sugar, blood pressure and pulse which I can then sort by when taken and calculate prior to seeing my Doctor.

I test alternately at Wakeup, Breakfast+2, Lunch+2 and dinner+2. I then need to prepare a report averaging those specific readings for a given period, counting highs and lows within that range, and determining  my Hb1Ac on a three month average. The report would look something like this:

Period:

Average Blood Sugar at Wakeup

Average  at Breakfast +2

etc, etc to include average for Systolic, Diastolic and Pulse

Any suggestions? 

Thanks

Herbert

• 1. Re: Database and Reports for Blood Sugar and Blood Glucose
          bobinaustin

I am working on my own glucose tracking and dosing db.  mine will not have most of what you are looking for but i will be entering my readings and I'm trying to figure out how to make it give me an average for a week, month, and year too.  I'm not trying to tackle air, ill leave that to the doc.

Good luck!

• 2. Re: Database and Reports for Blood Sugar and Blood Glucose
            DavidZakary

A fellow diabetic here. I've tackled this one in the past. You'll end up with a cross-tab report format which can be a pain to try to manage - many relationships are required and it gets messy after a while. I think my first one was in the .fp5 days, then .fp7. After that I moved to other tools.

If you're going to do this in FileMaker Pro, learn how to use ExecuteSQL. eSQL can help you extract and calculate the values you need to create your report without all of the relationships. The virtual list technique for working with the data may also come in handy.